Microsoft Forms enables automated machine reviews to proactively detect the malicious collection of sensitive data in forms and temporary block those forms from collecting responses. Learn more about Microsoft Forms and proactive phishing prevention.
The steps in this document also apply to Dynamics 365 Customer Voice (formerly known as Forms Pro). Note that a Dynamics 365 Customer Voice license is required in order to unblock Dynamics 365 Customer Voice surveys. Learn more.
Review alerts in the Microsoft Defender portal
If you’re a global or security administrator, you’ll receive alerts in the Microsoft Defender XDR portal about potential phishing forms for which you can take action.
If you’re a global administrator, you’ll receive data privacy messages for your organization, including daily notifications of any form created within your tenant that has been detected and blocked for potential phishing. You’ll see these notifications in the Message center by looking for Microsoft Forms Phishing Notification. (If you don’t see this notification in the All active messages tab/view, you may find it in the Dismissed messages tab/view.) For each notification, select the Forms admin review URL link or links to review blocked forms.
In order for security administrators to also receive notifications about potential phishing forms, global administrators need to assign the Message Center Privacy Reader role to them. To learn more about the Message center, see frequently asked questions. Also see how to set email preferences for data privacy messages.
- Sign in to the Microsoft Defender XDR portal.
- Select Incidents & alerts > Alerts. You may see one or all of the following alerts for Forms:
- User restricted from sharing forms and collecting responses
- Form flagged and confirmed as phishing
- Form blocked due to potential phishing attempt
- Select an alert to review it. To review the form that has been flagged, tap or click the three dots in the bottom right corner next to the Manage alert button, and then select Review this form. TipLearn more about alert policies in Microsoft 365.
Unblock a form or confirm its phishing attempt
For each form you review, you can choose whether to unblock it or confirm phishing.
Select Unblock if you don’t believe a form has malicious intent.
If someone in your tenant requests you to unblock their form, we suggest you ask for specific form information (e.g. date and time of block, title) in order to more efficiently identify the notification in the admin center. Since notifications are sent on a daily basis and include all detected forms in the last 24 hours, identifiable information for the form will be helpful.
Select Confirm phishing if you believe a form has malicious intent. The form will be blocked permanently and its owner will no longer be able to edit or delete it.
Once you’ve selected Confirm phishing, click or tap Delete form to permanently delete the form from your tenant. We strongly suggest immediate password reset for an account in your tenant that you believe has been compromised.
Your selection of Confirm phishing helps Microsoft Forms improve its detection accuracy.
Commonly asked questions
When I go to review a blocked form, why don’t I see options to unblock it or confirm phishing?
Upon review, you may see a block for a form has already been lifted. This means that in between the time a form was blocked and the time you reviewed it, the form owner removed keywords that were flagged for potential phishing. In this scenario, no further action from you is required.
If a form has been blocked for confirmed phishing, can I remove it?
If the form has already been blocked for confirmed phishing, select Delete form to remove it from your tenant.
What if I don’t take any action on a blocked form?
If you choose to not take action (either unblock a form or confirm its phishing intent), the form will stay blocked. The form owner can still edit the form and remove keywords that were flagged for potential phishing.
What if I want to edit or delete the blocked content in the form?
If you prefer to edit and/or delete the blocked content, you can generate a co-authoring page and manage the form as a co-author. To do this, click on the open a co-authoring page link located in the messaging above the form you’re reviewing.